Arthaus-Musik on Facebook Arthaus-Musik on Instagram Arthaus-Musik on Vimeo Arthaus-Musik on Youtube Arthaus-Musik on Twitter
12 DVD Box Set
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Ludwig van Beethoven, Leoš Janáček, Giuseppe Verdi
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Ludwig van Beethoven, Leoš Janáček, Giuseppe Verdi
12 DVD Box Set

Anny Schlemm, Irmgard Arnold, Hanns Nocker
Orchestra, Chorus: 
Chor und Orchester der Komischen Oper Berlin
Fritz Lehmann, Václav Neumann, Kurt Masur, Karl-Fritz Voigtmann, Zdeněk Koš
Walter Felsenstein

Walter Felsenstein (1901–1975), founder and general director of the Komische Oper in Berlin, was one of the twentieth century’s greatest creative theatre directors, who played a hugely important role in the revival of opera as a theatrical art form. A brilliant artist who directed over 190 productions during the course of his career, he was equally committed to the works, their creators, the ensemble and the audience. This unique edition brings together 7 opera fi lms in a rare documentation that offers an insight into the theatrical work of a man whose legendary productions fascinated international audiences for decades. The films can now be experienced for the first time in carefully restored digital form. Felsenstein’s consistent development of the musical/visual language of opera film remains a source of inspiration even today. Opera on film – opera as film – however one describes them, his productions continue to astonish with their clarity and intensity. They will remain an invaluable artistic legacy for generations to come! Operas: Ludwig van Beethoven: Fidelio (1956) 1 DVD Leoš Janácek: Das schlaue Füchslein (1965) 1 DVD Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Don Giovanni (1966) 2 DVDs Giuseppe Verdi: Othello (1969) 2 DVDs Jacques Offenbach: Hoffmanns Erzählungen (1970) 2 DVDs Jacques Offenbach: Ritter Blaubart (1973) 2 DVDs Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Die Hochzeit des Figaro (1975/76) 2 DVDs